School Logo

Newburn Manor Primary School

Learning together, growing together

National Curriculum for parents

The ‘basic’ school curriculum includes the national curriculum, as well as religious education and sex education.


The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.


Key stages

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, the teacher will formally assess your child’s performance.


Child’s ageYearKey stageAssessment
3 to 4 Early years 
4 to 5ReceptionEarly yearsTeacher assessments (there’s also an optional assessment at the start of the year)
5 to 6Year 1KS1Phonics screening check
6 to 7Year 2KS1National tests and teacher assessments in English, maths and science
7 to 8Year 3KS2 
8 to 9Year 4KS2 
9 to 10Year 5KS2 
10 to 11Year 6KS2National tests and teacher assessments in English and maths, and teacher assessments in science